Faculty Partnership Awards 2020

The Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences Partnership Awards is an annual event to give recognition and thanks to staff and students in the Faculty.

The awards are part of the larger Leeds Partnership Awards, organised by Leeds University Union.

At Leeds we value our academic community, and actively involve all staff and students in working together to provide an exceptional learning experience. Nominations are invited for the awards to recognise outstanding impact across several categories.

This year the Faculty has held a virtual partnership awards ceremony, announcing to students and colleagues the nominees and winners this year’s awards. We would like to congratulate the following individuals from within our Institute for their commitment to the partnership in various categories :

The Equality and Inclusion Award

This person or group strives to create a fair and equal environment in which everyone can achieve their potential.
Winner:  Sarah Crossland (School of Mechanical Engineering)

The Mentor Award

Whether an SES staff, academic, or a student, this person’s guidance and support has encouraged and nurtured others to develop their skills and prospects for the future, helping them to grow and progress, either personally or in their learning.

Winners: Sophie Williams (School of Mechanical Engineering) & Yu Dian (SWJTU)

The Personal Tutor Award

The personal tutor who does their utmost to support their students, promoting engagement with academic and co-curricular activities, and facilitating their personal development.

Winner: Anthony Herbert (School of Mechanical Engineering) &  Samantha Pugh (School of Physics and Astronomy)

The Postgraduate Researchers who teach Award

Any registered Leeds PhD student who, while undertaking their own study, has also actively and exceptionally contributed to other students’ education as a module assistant, seminar leader or demonstrator.

Highly commended: Mackenzie Brown  (School of Mechanical Engineering)